Who’s Who in TRIO

You might consistently hear these names pop up in conversation around TRIO. Below you will  find a picture and a brief description of their importance towards the success of TRIO Programs within the State, the Region, and the Nation. 

President Lyndon B. JohnsonPresident Lyndon B. Johnson

President Johnson was responsible for the creation and implementation of the first TRIO Programs starting with Upward Bound when enacting The Economic Opportunity Act of 1964.




Pearl M. HillPearl M. Hill 

Pearl’s passion for her work led her to become the founding President of the Northwest Association of Special Programs – NASP (now known as the Northwest Association of Education Opportunities – NAEOP), the regional association of TRIO programs in Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington, and a member of the founding committee of TRIO’s national association, the National Council of Educational Opportunity Associations (NCEOA), known today as the Council for Opportunity in Education (COE). Pearl served as its first Secretary and sat on its founding Board of Directors. In 1982 she was among the first TRIO grads to be recognized by the Council as TRIO Achievers.


Dr. Arnold MitchemDr. Arnold L. Mitchem 

Dr. Mitchem’s contribution to TRIO Programs are unmeasurable. He currently is the President Emeritus for COE, and was the previous President from 1986-2013. Dr. Mitchem was vital to the success of TRIO in the mid 70’s where his actions led to the beginning of communication between TRIO Programs and Washington D.C. Mitchem is an advocate for equal access to post-secondary education and success of students in the United States.



Maureen HoylerMaureen Hoyler 

Maureen Hoyler assumed the position of President of the Council for Opportunity in Education in 2013. Ms. Hoyler has been a voice for low-income, first-generation students and individuals with disabilities. As President, she oversees management of the Washington office and the fiscal affairs of the Association also while serving as the primary liaison between the Association and the United States Congress, the Executive Branch, all Governmental Agencies. She is the official representative of the Association with all other postsecondary educational associations.



Dr. Sari ByerlyDr. Sari Byerly 

Dr. Sari Byerly is the Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs at Idaho State University, where she has the pleasure of overseeing nine U.S. Department of Education grants. Her leadership with Idaho State University’s Access and Opportunity Programs spans across six campus/outreach locations, 21 high schools, and 250+ miles of the state of Idaho. She strongly believes in the positive impact College Access and Success programs have on people’s lives at all levels whether a participant, an employee, the institution, or the community. Over the years, Dr. Byerly has had the privilege to work towards educational access through her various leadership roles. She has served on the Board of Directors for the Idaho Association of TRIO Professionals (IATP), regionally on Board of Directors for the Northwest Association of Educational Opportunity Programs (NAEOP), and nationally with the Council for Opportunity in Education (COE).


Skip to content